Day four… Menjangan island & Ogah Ogah

IMG_6465

Day four… Menjangan island & Ogah Ogah

This was such a beautiful day to be in Bali. Never again will I avoid this time of year. Soulful, delightful & captivating.

DSCN4564

Up early & into the van for a quick drive west to the snorkel boat port. Rustic boats & fumes in the air I felt a little sick from the get go so take a travel calm tablet.

DSCN4587

We board the fishing boat & take off toward Menjangan Island with the ancient Javanese volcanos in view.

Our wonderful guides, Leon & Gede were beyond great showing real joy in their jobs & true care in looking after us & making our experience truly memorable. A special thanks to Gede for reassuring me during the early parts of the boat ride before my seasickness tablet kicked in & I was able to just relax & enjoy. Suksma Gede.

We get to the first stop & im second in the water. It’s a magic underwater garden full of gorgeous fish & beautiful coral.

DSCN4615

Swish, swish of the flippers & all of a sudden I’m at the boat! Time for our lunch – Nasi Goreng, yum!!

DSCN4623

Next spot & even better than the last & a bit longer too with a dramatic underwater cliff that fills me with anxiety & delight!

DSCN4637

I notice both Leon & Gede are along with us & making sure we are all ok. Leon dives down & collects a few pieces of rubbish but really there isn’t much & it’s mostly organic stuff floating on the surface.

Boat ride back is divine. I’m relaxed & enjoy the gentle rocking of the boat, even closing my eyes & nearly drifting off to zzz. I’d do that again in a heart beat! We used “Fun and Fun Adventures Dive Center” for this snorkel trip as well as the gear hire for the week.

—-

The four of us do our best to wear appropriate dress for this arvo as it’s the Ogah Ogah parade! In sarong, sleeved tops & a freshly bought kabaya from the shop (I ask the girl to help me tie it). We wander west as a couple of locals have mentioned the area we should be in to have the best vantage point. We find it!

The priests are gathered & doing some rituals, the locals are bringing their offerings & placing them on the large table. It’s going to be a long process but there is a real excitement in the air.

DSCN4781

We sit & watch. I go for a bit of a wander a couple of times to see it from a different angle. I grab us some water as it’s hot – 4 bottles, I just give 50k. (I believe in looking after the Ibu’s working hard as I know they will use it wisely and most likely spend it on the grandkids).

The pre Ogah Ogah ceremony starts so all the locals sit on the road (it’s closed to traffic today).

DSCN4796

I’m sat at the back & very close to an elderly Ibu who is chanting along with the priest. I watch her pick some flowers & use them in the pray. She is amazing & this close encounter is so special. Next it’s a play of sorts where the folklore is re-enacted. It’s very loud & dramatic, the locals all gather around to get a good view. I’m stood on a bit of a verge, straining to see when all of a sudden a girl is being carried out unconscious. It’s a really weird situation as her friends are really worried but no one else comes to help. A nearby tourist steps in and cools the girl down, she regains consciousness thankfully & he steps away without a fuss. My heart was in my throats for her!

DSCN4812

Next up the Ogah Ogah begins.

Each statue is paraded forward, moving & dancing its way to meet its opponent coming the other way. It’s hard work for the little kids but they do such a great job. In all there are about 24 statutes with kids ranging from little through to adults. Then we follow the Ogah Ogah back toward the hotel. It’s festive & exciting & very happy! It’s been hours & we are hungry so we decide to skip the burning of the Ogah Ogah & head out for an early dinner.

IMG_6449

Back to the hotel for a few duty frees. Tomorrow is Nyepi! Zzz

Leave a Reply

