Day one – Temples, markets & waterfalls

map day 1

Hello! Pagi 🙂 I’m back with more Bali tales to tell! This was day one…

IMG_6079

Yesterday was a day in transit with some truly memorable experiences such as a Qantas Lounge Pass (thx Kate), a safe/quick flight & a chance meeting with my usual Bali driver in the arrival area at Denpasar Airport. Made my heart sing seeing your face Alex!

1

Up super early after very little sleep & out for a wander through the hotel (Alam Jiwa in Nyuh Kuning, Ubud). Then a delicious breakfast before we all pile into the van for an epic day of sightseeing through central Bali as we make our way up north.

2

First stop is a gorgeous little lake temple known as Tirta Tama Mumbul. You can buy some fish food & feed the huge fish which of course I did. There are monkey’s here too if you’re brave.

3

Next up is a stop in at Candi Kuning markets. I love this market for the vibrant food & vegetable displays & to practice Bahasa Indonesia with the lovely market ladies. I bought some Silver Clove ointment too for 30k. And spent a penny (2k) to use the bathrooms.

4

On we go to the stunning Pura Ulun Danu Beratan – the temple on Lake Beratan. It’s all dressed up with ceremony in progress as the people ready for Melasti & Nyepi. The place is a buzz with tourists & locals – there’s a really festive feel in the air. We have lunch (Boleh saya minta sate ayam dan small Bintang?) & watch the people run as a big rain storm hits.

5

From this point on this is new Bali territory for me so I watch on as the country side becomes mountainous & absolutely gorgeous as we move along the ridge towards Munduk, first with a stop off at the Twin Lakes lookout.

DSCN4350

This road through Munduk is very beautiful but a lot scary as it is high on a ridge with deep valley’s (cliffs) each side. It’s a major thoroughfare so the traffic moves at high speed along this narrow, windy road – I find myself just concentrating on the stunning scenery until we reach our next destination… Munduk Falls.

6

I grab a water from a tiny warung, tip the smiling ibu generously & walk on down to the falls. The walk down is easy & very pretty with the green jungle around. The fall itself literally takes your breath away with the sheer force of the water plus its beauty. You can walk right up to it & feel the full force of the water falling down. It was so good & I loved every moment of it even taking a facetime call from Mr & Mini Bali Fix there so they could share the experience with me. The walk back up was a little bit hard but not difficult. I was puffed but not needing an ambulance J

7

On we go through this delicious countryside. Sonjoy, you are right, it’s divine here & I will certainly come back & stay a few nights on a future trip. We make a stop in a tiny village near Siririt – this is the Bali I love – all the locals are happy & friendly, I can practice my Bahasa Indonesia & they can practice their Bahasa Ingris. The town is tidy & I can feel the energy building for Melasti & Nyepi.

IMG_6244

The final leg to Pemuteran is along the coast & very pretty. Finally we arrive at our Hotel for the coming days, the Tirta Sari Bungalows. It’s very, very pretty.

8

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

