Day 10 – I love this town!

 

DSCN1837

Day 10 – Ubud. Part 2

DSCN1812

Next we walk south to Cocomart for a look. Now I know enough about Ubud to know there was such a thing as cocomart & I have even been to the bintang near Penestanan but I wasn’t expecting such an awesome grocery store as this! I think I squealed with delight when I saw just how big it was! I just love walking the aisles & looking at all the different things, grabbing anything that tickled my fancy. I ended up buying Mr P chilli peanuts, my favourite coconut sweets, more ginger tea & several other things to take home & savour until my next trip.

Right, lets get back to the hotel for a swim! So off we go, heading north again, up past the monkey forest… again, a really cute area with so many shops I’d love to peruse (and I’m not a shopper!).

DSCN1815

The girls spy a monkey first & there are quiet squeals of delight & fright.

DSCN1829

They are freaky creatures. So funny that they are just everywhere & that so many people are mesmerised by them but I guess you have to watch out for them otherwise they might jump on you or steal your sunnies. We walked past the forest & up onto MFR to enjoy yet more gorgeous little shops. Mental note: come back to Ubud, stat.

DSCN1819

Finally we get back to the hotel & get into our swimmers, pour the duty frees & head down to the pool to disturb all the relaxing, quietly couples. We all enjoyed a lovely swim & chat & I’m pleased we had the foresight to take two duty frees each (just the Mums!). We just chatted & laughed & relaxed.

DSCN1844

Right, dinner tonight sees us heading to Ibu Rai.

DSCN1854

I’m really excited to dine here as I’ve read all about Ibu Rai, as she was known, and her life. I love a good legend & knowing the story behind the legend. So although this isn’t Ibu Rai’s road side warung that was famous with travellers in the 60’s, I still like the idea that it represents good food for travellers & hold her name.

DSCN1856

Anyway, I wasn’t very hungry but still managed some very yummy lumpia. While my gorgeous daughter was served a gigantic but stunning plate of sate ayum with all the trimmings so I helped her out a bit J It was a delightful evening & we all enjoyed it a lot. Just a short, downhill stroll home helps too. Zzz

DSCN1855

Leave a Reply

